Cavewoman

I was writing on the envelope that I need to send out with my estimated tax payment in it and as I wrote the word “Greenbelt” with my medium point Sharpie, I had had this image of scrawling something on a cave wall. I thought about how many things had to happen for me to scratch something in black onto that white envelope, and for those scratchings to mean something to me, and to others who would see it. How some of the others that are united in the ability to recognize that the scratchings mean something would find a way to get my piece of paper where it needs to go. Also, inside is currency. Currency also built on the premise of scratchings on paper. Even the little thing that sticks into the corner of the envelope is currency and made of pictures that mean something.

Leave a Reply

